Honorary doctorates of the University of Antwerp 2019

Honorary doctorates of the University of Antwerp 2019

On Thursday 4 April, the honorary doctorates were awarded by the University of Antwerp. It was again a fascinating day in which 4 top scientists and a Nobel Peace Prize winner were put in the spotlight.

The award ceremony started with a master class that was given by all honorary doctors to the former students of UAntwerp and other interested parties. Then followed the most important moment of the day, the solemn ceremony.

Next scientists and the Nobel Prize winner have been crowned:

  • Dr. Denis Mukwege - Nobel Peace Prize winner 2018
  • Prof. Mathias Dewatripont
  • Prof. Heidi Larson
  • Prof. Jane Lubchenco
  • Prof. Xavier Maldague

At the end of the day the honorary doctors and all the other guests could enjoy a culinary reception.

Play AV was again responsible for the lighting, video and camera area. It was important for the University of Antwerp that the auditorium no longer looked like an ordinary auditorium, but became a cosy and suitable space for a ceremony. So it was important that the stage, the singers and the speakers were illuminated in an appropriate way. The show was also captured live and edited shortly afterwards to be published on the UAntwerp website the next day.